Top 5 Fastest Centuries in IPL History

In a country that loves cricket, the Indian Premier League (IPL) is the biggest source of entertainment. There have been brilliant centuries in IPL, and some of them have left oppositions with no room to hide. The impact of a century is higher when it is scored off fewer deliveries.

Fastest Centuries in IPL History

Scoring a hundred in a T20 game is an outstanding achievement for a cricketer. We look at the top five fastest hundreds in IPL history:

Chris Gayle – 30 balls

Known for his destructive batting, Chris Gayle was in no mood to spare the Pune Warriors team when Royal Challengers Bangalore met the Maharashtrian side in Bangalore. Gayle smashed a century off just 30 balls, leaving the Pune-based team’s bowlers helpless.

The Universe boss ended up scoring 175* off just 66 balls. The 30-ball hundred is the fastest in T20 cricket too.

Also read: Cricket Pitches & how it affects the outcome of the game

 Yusuf Pathan – 37 balls

Yusuf Pathan is a powerful striker of the cricket ball and showed his hitting range against Mumbai Indians (MI) in IPL 2010 at Mumbai’s Brabourne Stadium. Yusuf was playing for Rajasthan Royals when he smashed a century off just 37 balls.

The innings consisted of nine fours and eight sixes, but, unfortunately, Yusuf finished on the losing side. He was the first player to score a century in a Royals jersey.

Earn exciting rewards by making predictions on India’s top online cricket betting platform – -BetDaily

David Miller – 38 balls

In 2013, this hundred was an absolute masterclass from one of the game’s best and most destructive finishers. Batting first, RCB got to a total of 190 runs. In reply, the Kings chased down the target with three overs to spare.

Miller was the star in the run chase, scoring a century off just 38 balls. He put RCB bowlers to the sword at IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali.

Joint-Fastest T20I Hundred

The left-handed batter jointly holds the record for the quickest century in T20, reaching the three-figure score in 35 balls against Bangladesh.

Adam Gilchrist – 42 balls

Batting for Deccan Chargers, Adam Gilchrist made a mockery out of Mumbai’s 154 runs in the inaugural edition of the IPL. Gilchrist scored a century in just 42 balls, a destructive innings that consisted of nine fours and ten sixes.

It was a breathtaking innings from the wicketkeeper-batter, who steered the now-defunct Deccan Chargers to their maiden and only IPL title in 2009.

AB de Villiers – Mr. 360 – 43 balls

AB de Villiers was in beast mode when he scored a century off just 43 balls against Gujarat Lions in the 2016 season. Batting first, RCB posted 248 runs, thanks mainly to the South Africa batter’s ten fours and 12 sixes.

The RCB legend hasn’t won an IPL title but scored over 4000 runs and remains one of the greatest players in IPL history. He has registered the quickest ODI hundred, reaching the hundred in just 31 balls.

Note: Stats as on 25/05/2023

 Fastest Centuries in IPL 2023

In IPL 2023, eight players scored a century. Harry Brook, Venkatesh Iyer, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Suryakumar Yadav, Shubman Gill, Prabhsimran Singh, and Cameron Green scored their maiden IPL hundreds.

Let’s look at the top three fastest hundreds in IPL 2023 season:

Cameron Green – 47 balls vs Sunrisers Hyderabad
Suryakumar Yadav – 49 balls vs Wankhede Stadium
Heinrich Klaasen – 49 balls vs Royal Challengers Bangalore
Venkatesh Iyer – 49 balls vs Mumbai Indians
Shubman Gill – 52 balls vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Note: Stats as on 25/05/2023

Final Thoughts

The way IPL is going, seeing more blistering centuries in the coming seasons won’t be surprising. Who do you think will overtake Chris Gayle’s record of a 30-ball hundred?

Leave a Comment